A Day to Life Post- 48!


Why is it that parents can’t accept the fact that their child has all grown up and give them their freedom? How hard is it for them to respect their child’s freedom and life? Especially for a child who is in her/his late 20’s. In less than 20 days I am going to turn 30 years and my parents still decide the freedom for me. Yes, I still live with my family, because here this is how it works. Why is that so? Don’t we have a life as well?
Where I live, society is given the main priority, it doesn’t matter if you are happy or sad, but trying to impress the society becomes a major part of our life. Which I don’t agree with at all. People don’t get to decide our fate or our life or our future, then why all the drama? We are in the modern age, then why let this thinking take us to the old times again. I like the concept where once you are an adult you start living on your own and start earning. That is giving the kids a chance to be independent, so they can make their own decisions in their life. It’s not the same here, but I this trend starts soon. There are kids who live alone in another city due to studies and work, like my own younger sister. She has been living alone in Delhi for almost 2 years now due to her transfer. I sometimes feel she’s better off like that. Away from all the family drama, living her life and working peacefully.
I feel parents should respect their child’s life, the way they expect their child to do the same. It’s a give and take kind of a thing and not a one way road. I just happen to encounter a situation with my parents sometime back so thought if write it down, it could be of some help. Because the age I am right now, I don’t like to be told what to do and what not to do. This is the age where parents need to give their child some space and should not try to draw unnecessary boundaries. This will only create friction and unpleasant atmosphere in the house. I guess that’s it for now.
Weekend is just a day away. So happy weekend to everyone !

8 thoughts on “A Day to Life Post- 48!”

  1. Hi Sonu! I agree, parents need to give their children room to breathe and make decisions for themselves especially when they get older in life. Otherwise how else can they learn and grow for themselves. Happy weekend too!

  2. I agree with all you’ve said, Sonu. But parents find it hard to “let go,” even if the child is not in the same household. You will struggle with this as well when you become a parent. I think all parents do. Children are our creation, our pride, our love, and we want to “protect” them as long as we possibly can.

    It may seem unbearable. It may seem unfair. Just nod your head and accept what they say. You don’t always have to do as they say, but if you just let it flow to (and through!) you, you’ll find they won’t be so “intolerable.” After all, the more you resist, the more it will persist, and it will seem as if it’s building to a breaking point (if it hasn’t already!).

    Cherish your time with your parents. I know, typical blah-blah, right? 🙂

    I had a younger sister who spent the last fifteen years with my parents (well into my sister’s early 30’s) before they both passed away (separated by years). I envy her time with mom and dad. She learned more about them than I had being away and out of state.

    At times she found life hard living with them, but she tolerated it and now has all these wonderful memories of them. Memories I wish I had.

    As they say, grin and bear it. You’ll be so glad you did. 🙂

    1. Thanks Michael ! It’s not that I don’t like spending time with them or I don’t love them. It’s just at times it gets little too much. Otherwise I am a very calm and an understanding person.
      I will surely keep everything in mind. And no it’s not a typical blah blah. I am glad you shared so much with me. Thank you 🙂
      And I am sorry to hear about your parents. I lost my dad when I was 12years. So I can understand a little.

      Thank you once again 🙂

      1. I guess I should have added that I was not suggesting that you didn’t love them. Sorry if that came across in my post.

        But I hear you! Parents can be very difficult at times. 🙂

        I was in my late 20’s when I first lost my father. I can’t imagine losing a parent as young as you did. My heart goes out to you.

Leave a Reply

